NWL: Home Run Derby Participants Announced

The Northwoods League has announced the participants for the 2017 All-Star Game Home Run Derby which will take place before the Northwoods League All-Star Game in Wausau, Wisconsin on Tuesday, July 18 at 5:00 p.m. (CST). Nine participants from both the South and North have been chosen for the event which will feature a nine-inning competition between the two divisions.

The South team is led by Christian Jones (Campbell University) of the Wisconsin Rapids Rafters and Stevie Mangrum (Virginia Tech) of the All-Star Game host Wisconsin Woodchucks. Jones has 12 home runs and 28 RBI in 37 games for the Rafters while Mangrum has hit 11 home runs, driven in 32 runs and is currently hitting .329 over 41 games.

The team from the North features Zach Zubia (Texas) of the Rochester Honkers and Joe Genord (South Florida) of the Waterloo Bucks. Over 41 games, Zubia leads the league with 14 home runs and has scored 39 runs while driving in 42 and he is currently hitting .331. Genord is second in home runs in the North with seven and he has driven in 18 runs in 27 games.

The format for the Home Run Derby is below:

1. There will be 9 innings with each player having one half inning.

2. Away team (North) player bats first in the top of the inning, and home team player next (South) in the bottom half of the inning.

3. Each player will have one half inning at bat that will consist of 6 outs

4. The player with the most home runs at the end of the 9 innings, will be the Home Run Derby Winner

5. The team (North or South) with the most home runs will be announced as the winner of the team competition.

Fox Sports 1070 · We Are Fox Sports 1070 Madison!

Listen Now on iHeartRadio